A Nepali passion for cricket

For Those who love Nepalese Cricket

Bhairahawa in final

Posted by Prabin the सोभित on बिहिवार, अप्रील 3, 2008


KATHMANDU, April 2 – Captain Shakti Gauchan guided Region No 4 Bhairahawa into the final of the Springwood National League Cricket Tournament with a 55-run victory over Region No 2 Birgunj at the Lab School Ground on Wednesday.

Shakti scored unbeaten 72 as the defending champion posted 198/8 in the 42-over match before Birgunj was bowled out for 143 in 39 overs. In the other match, Region No 3 Kathmandu thrashed four-time champion Region No 1 Biratnagar by 147 runs. Birgunj captain Binod Das gave his team a good start with a wicket in the first ball as Basanta Regmi skied one to Binay Sah at long-on. It was Binod’s 50th wicket in the national league and he became the second player after Raju Basnet to reach the landmark.

He then added two more while Sameer Thapa and Sanjam Regmi also grabbed two each as Bhairahawa went down to 74/7 in 20 overs. But then, Shakti turned the tables on Birgunj partnering 54 with Amrit Bhattarai, who hit 29 off 41 balls with two fours and two sixes.

Sagar Khadka, who had earlier went out of the field after sustaining injury on forehead hit by Binod’s delivery, came back to add unbeaten 68 with his captain to take the team to a good total. Sagar got 16 while Shakti hit eight fours and two sixes in his 89-ball knock.

Birgunj did not start well losing Suraj Timilsina in the second over and never recovered. In 12 overs, it was 53/5 needing heroics of opener Anil Mandal who was looking good. Anil got 50 of 81 balls with six fours but was undone by an arm ball from left-arm spinner Basanta to put Birgunj at 93/6.

Raj Mohammad (25) and Binod Das (18) tried to fight but it got all out for 143. Amrit took three wickets to cap an excellent day while Faizal Khan, Basanta and Rahul BK each took two wickets.

At TU Cricket Ground, Biratnagar proved no match to Kathmandu after captain Paresh Lohani’s fine knock. Paresh scored 79 off 108 balls with 11 fours and Raju Basnet added 41 off 39 balls with three sixes toward the end as Kathmandu posted 235 in 49.5 overs. Gyanendra Malla made a good contribution with 31. For Biratnagar, Mehboob Alam took three wickets and Raj Kumar Pradhan, bowling with injured hand, got two.

In reply, poor running between the wickets and fine bowling from Kathmandu bowled Biratnagar out for 88 runs in 22.1 overs – its fourth lowest total in the event’s history. Manoj Katuwal (18), Sunny Pun (16), Ajay Rajbanshi (15) and Pashupati Mandal (11) were the only batsmen to score in double-digit. Paras Khadka (3/9), Abhaya Rana (2/50) and Pramod Basnet (1/24) finished the match as other bowlers were not required.

Today’s Matches:  Kathmandu vs Nepalgunj at TU; Birgunj vs Baitadi at Lab

Binod’s 50 Wickets

Birgunj captain Binod Das became the second player to complete 50 wickets in the national league when Basanta Regmi of Bhairahawa skied the first ball of the innings straight to a fielder. Raju Basnet of Kathmandu was the first player to achieve the milestone two days ago.

Binod took two more wickets in the innings to take his individual tally to 52 wickets from 24 matches – without failing to take wickets in any of them – and become the leading wicket-taker as Raju did not bowl in Wednesday’s match.

Top Five Bowlers:
Player                                             Matches          Wkts           Avg                    Best

Binod Das (RN2)                              24                    52            11.94                   4/22

Raju Basnet (RN3)                           26                     51            13.22                   5/15

Mehboob Alam (RN1)                       24                     49              9.61                    7/25

Raj Kumar Pradhan (RN1)               22                     47              9.91                    5/42

Shakti Gauchan (RN4)                     22                     40             8.23                    5/19


One Response to “Bhairahawa in final”

  1. Bhairahawa enter final

    The Himalayan Times, Kathmandu, April 2:

    Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) made it to the final of the Springwood Senior One Day National Cricket League with 55-run win over Region No 2 (Birgunj) here at the Laboratory School grounds today.
    With four wins in as many matches, Bhairahawa are likely to meet Region No 3 (Kathmandu) in the fight for the championship. Kathmandu defeated Region No 1 (Biratnagar) by 147-run for their third consecutive victory. Win against either Baitadi on Thursday or Bhairahawa on Friday will ensure Kathmandu’s place in the final.
    At Lab School grounds, Bhairahawa scored 198-8 in their allotted 42 overs and restricted Birgunj for 143 in 39 over. Bhairahawa skipper Shakti Gauchan scored unbeaten 72 off 89 balls that included eight fours and two sixes. Amrit Bhattarai Bhattarai made 29, Manoj Baishya 22 and Sagar Khadka 16 not out. Sagar was hit on the forehead off Binod Das bowling and was taken to hospital for treatment. He returned to add unbroken 68-run partnership with skipper Gauchan. Das took 3-38 while Sameer Thapa and Sanjam Regmi bagged two wickets apiece.
    In reply, Anil Mandal scored 50 and Raj Mohammad 25 as Birgunj were eventually dismissed for 143 runs in 39 overs. Amrit Bhattarai took 3-38 while Faizal Khan, Rahul BK and Basanta Regmi took two wickets each for Bhairahawa.
    At the TU stadium, Skipper Paresh Lohani led from the front to guide Kathmandu to a comprehensive 147-run win over Biratnagar. Batting first, Kathmandu were all out for 235 with one ball to spare in the 50-over match. Biratnagar could only muster 88 in 22.overs.
    Lohani scored 79 from 108 balls with 11 fours . Raju Basnet made a fluent 41 and Gyanendra Malla made 31. Mahaboob Alam took 3-29 and Raj Kumar Pradhan 2-28 for Biratnagar.
    Skipper Manoj Katuwal top scored with 18 runs for Biratnagar. Parash Khadka claimed three, Abhaya Rana two and Pramod Basnet one wicket for Kathmandu.

    Das surpasses Basnet

    KATHMANDU: Region No 2 (Birgunj) skipper Binod Das became the leading wicket-taker in the national league when he claimed three wickets against Bhairahawa in the Springwood Senior One Day National Cricket League here on Wednesday. Seamer Das surpassed right-arm spinner Raju Basnet of Kathmandu, who reached the 50-wicket mark after claiming career best 5-15 against Birgunj on Sunday, as the leading wicketkeeper in the national tournaments. Das now has 52 wickets to his credit from 24 matches.

जवाफ लेख्नुहोस्

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )


%d bloggers like this: