A Nepali passion for cricket

For Those who love Nepalese Cricket

CAN XI clean sweep Twenty20 series

Posted by Prabin the सोभित on बिहिवार, जुलाई 3, 2008

The Himalayan Times, Kathmandu, July 2:

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) XI clean swept the three-match friendly cricket series against Australian Old Collegians here toay.

CAN XI recorded a comprehensive 117-run victory over the visiting Australian team, their third successive victories in as many Twenty20 matches. Electing to bat first, the home team accumulated 184-4 with Paresh Lohani and Dipendra Chaudhary each scoring a half century. The Australian team only managed 67 in 18.1 overs.

Lohani and Kanishka Chaugain laid the foundation for a huge total putting on 69 runs for the opening wicket. Lohani scored 70 off just 50 deliveries hitting three sixes and five fours while Chaugain made 23 from 17 balls including one six and a four.

Chaudhary joined Lohani in the eighth over after Rory Dempsey dismissed Chaugain and the two Nepali batsmen continued punishing the visitors putting on 86 runs for the second wicket. Chaudhary struck three sixes and three fours on his way to 40-ball 54. Steve Newman finished with 2-38 while Dempsey and Josh Cullinan claimed one wicket each for the Collegians.

In reply, the Collegians were on the backfoot early on after losing two wickets in the opening over. They never recovered from the early blow and lost their wickets in regular intervals before finally being dismissed for 67 in 18.1 overs. Dempsey top-scored with 14 runs and Shane William made 12.

Manjeet Shrestha, Ayush Sharma, Raj Kumar Pradhan and Rupesh Shrivastav took two wickets each for the home team.

Meanwhile, Mahboob Alam has won the best player of the year, It was given him considering his performance in World Cricket League Div. VI in Jersey with world record of perfect 10


जवाफ लेख्नुहोस्

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )


%d bloggers like this: