A Nepali passion for cricket

For Those who love Nepalese Cricket

First test for new captain Paras

Posted by Prabin the सोभित on आइतवार, नोभेम्बर 22, 2009

REPUBLICA, Kathmandu, Nov 22:

Nepal are the emerging power in Asian cricket. However, the scenarios will be different on Sunday. Nepal are taking archrivals Malaysia in the second edition of the ACC T-20 Cup on Sunday but, most importantly, Nepal are under the leadership of new captain Paras Khadka.

This will be the first occasion that Nepal are playing under new captaincy in the last five years as Paras replaced Binod Das from the role. It would be the first senior level test for Paras in international tournament though he had succeeded in winning several domestic and age group tournaments.

Binod was captain for the national squad since 2005. Nepal had won the ACC Premier League Three-day Tournament in 2006 under Binod´s captaincy. However, Nepal could not cross the semifinals bench in four other major tournaments during his reign. Nepal were limited to semis in the important tournaments like two ACC trophies and ICC Division-5 World league.

In the meantime, Paras was leading region number 3, Kathmandu, to victories in the domestic tournaments — Wai Wai U-19, YumYum Senior T-20, Springwood National Cricket Tournament and Springwood T-20 Tournaments — to prove himself as a matured captain. Nepal had won the ACC U-19 Elite Cup in 2007 and reached the plate final of the ICC U-19 World Cup under Paras´ captaincy.

Nepal had encountered Malaysia in the first match of the first edition of the ACC T-20 Cup held last year in Kuwait in which Nepal had won the match by 21 runs. Nepal will try to continue the same momentum this time around in Sharjah, UAE.

Malaysia will try to end their ill-fated run in Pepsi World Cricket League Division-5 held in Singapore three months ago. On the opposite side, Nepal are taking this tournament as the preparation for the Division-5 League, which is scheduled to start from February 20 in Nepal.

Along with Malaysia, Nepal will face Oman, Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain in the following matches of group ´B´. The top two teams from each group will enter the semifinals of the tournament.

Group ´A´ Group ´B´
Afghanistan Oman
UAE Kuwait
Singapore Qatar
Hong Kong Nepal
Saudi Arabia Malaysia
China Bahrain

Nepal´s matches

November 22 – Malaysia (Sharjah)
November 23 – Kuwait (Abu Dhabi)
November 24 – Oman (Sharjah)
November 26 – Qatar (Sharjah)
November 27 – Bahrain (Sharjah)


Semifinals – November 29


Final – November 30 (Abu Dhabi)



जवाफ लेख्नुहोस्

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  बदल्नुहोस )


%d bloggers like this: